Friendship.

Friendship. It’s a weird thing, and often something we take for granted. It’s only in situations when things become extreme that you realise what friendship truly is. Whether that situation is a time of hardship or a time of immense joy, whether it is distance or time difference.

When I left the UK my best friend wrote me a letter- one which I’ve avoided reading since I arrived in Canada because I knew it would make me become so aware of just how much distance was between us. And between me and all of my friends. And everyone back home.

In the letter she wrote a quote from a book that I had bought her for Christmas.

When I bought the book, although I saw the quote as I flicked through its pages, I didn’t realise quite how poignant that quote would become.

“The most beautiful discovery true friends make is that they can grow separately without growing apart.”

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Granted, I have only been away from home for two weeks right now, but it honestly feels a lifetime. Perhaps because so many aspects of my daily life have changed. I have picked up a new routine and found new familiar faces, and so that old life has become so very far away.

One thing I have become increasingly aware of is how difficult it is to make new friends as an adult.

When you’re a kid, you are thrown into constructed social situations, which almost force you to make friends- kindergarten, nursery, school, playgroup, after school programmes, dance classes, college, and university. Everything is laid out in front of you like a puzzle, all you need to do is put the pieces together.

Things get a little more tricky when, as an adult with no set job offer, you decide to move thousands of miles from home.

I’m super lucky to be living with my family here. However, my cousin and best friend, J, my soul sista and twin, has moved from Toronto to Vancouver. And being here without her makes me a little lost. We share the same interests, from music to fashion, books to bars. I get on with her friends and she gets on with mine.

img_9682

Without her here, it’s feeling hard to find my people, and forge my own path. Though we’ve both agreed that it is best for us both. I’m finding my own feet.

I think the key thing to take away is the importance of friendship. It really is something we take for granted day-to-day as humans, when life gets a little hectic or boring or you just need some entertainment, it’s easy to forget how blessed you can be just to have a friend who is always there.

Leave a Reply

