“A New Chapter”

A wise uni lecturer once told me that you must keep on writing if you want to maintain your place in the field of journalism, even if you’re not getting paid for it. He always encouraged me to start a blog and, while I tried, I figured my life just wasn’t interesting enough to blog about. And without the name of an actual publisher behind me, no one really cared about my opinion either.

But then, I took this crazy leap of faith. I was having a really crap time in all honesty, and I kind of had this ‘fuck it’ attitude. Nothing felt like it was going my way (although looking back I totally think everything happens for a reason- and maybe I was being a little bit dramatic) and I figured I had nothing to lose. So, after a lifetime of yearly visits to Ontario to spend time with my family in Canada, I decided to make my dream of living in Toronto a reality, and I applied for a Canadian IEC working holiday visa.

That was over a year ago and, in January 2016, my visa was granted and I started saving like crazy. Things have came around pretty quickly, and I can’t believe that in just 11 days I will be hopping on that plane and travelling across the Atlantic to a whole world of new experiences.

I figure that, no matter what happens, it has to be more interesting than if I hadn’t taken the chance. And so, I’ve decided to document this adventure. It’s the beginning of a new chapter and I couldn’t be more psyched about what awaits me. Who knows, maybe it will be the making of me. Perhaps I will stop drinking alcohol and start doing yoga and really find myself. Or maybe I’ll just continue to get drunk off two glasses of wine and cry over puppies/how much I love people/nothing at all!

No matter what happens though, I think I’m about to embark on one of the most life changing milestones of my life. It’s going to be hard, and scary, and exciting, and I honestly can’t wait to write about all of my highs and lows along the way.

xo

Leave a Reply

