Healthy, homemade hummus

I absolutely love hummus and find that it is the perfect healthy snack to go with some veggies when you’re feeling a little peckish during the day, and it’s always a crowd-pleasing nibble when I have my friends round. However, I am very wary of supermarket hummus as all too often they seem to be packed with huge amounts of oil and lots of unnecessary, processed ingredients. So I decided to embark on making my own healthy hummus, and knowing all of the ingredients that are in it definitely puts my mind at ease. Like all of my favourite recipes, it’s simple and fairly cheap to make too.

IMG_0072

All you need is:

1 tin of chickpeas

1 tablespoon of olive oil ( a recipe I saw online recommended two, but I tweaked it to just one and it still worked out great)

1/3 cup tahini

1 clove of garlic

½ a lemon

IMG_0073

Simply pop all of your ingredients into a blender or food processer and mix away until your hummus is the perfect consistency. It really is THAT easy!

IMG_0075

I found the hummus to be delicious and enjoyed snacking on it pretty much every day last week.

IMG_0074

If you’re after a little bit more of an exciting flavour you can add some spices to the mixture such as Paprika, however I enjoyed mine just as it was and it went perfectly with my favourite snack of baby carrots.

I’ve seen some recipes for Mexican style hummus and red pepper hummus, which I am keen to try out too so fingers crossed I get round to that. If like me you fancy making your own, healthier hummus then give this recipe a go and hopefully you’ll enjoy it just as much as I did!

xoAimee

Leave a Reply

