Ideal student smoothie

Ever since I got a Smoothie 2 Go blender for Christmas I have been obsessed with making smoothies. I tend to have one every day after my morning workout as I usually don’t want to eat too much just after I have finished, but I still need to regain the energy I have just sweated out. Smoothies are also ideal for breakfast when you’re in a hurry- just throw in the fruit or vegetables of your choice, blend and away you go. With this in mind, they’re ideal for an on the go student like myself.

However, when researching smoothie recipes all too often I find that they include a long list of ingredients which, although beneficial to health, can be a little bit pricey. As a student, I find it difficult to afford all of these health foods and so I prefer to keep it simple- but simple does not have to be boring.

One of my favourite smoothies, and one which I tend to have every day, is made up of only 5 ingredients:

Smoothie ingredients

1 cup of frozen mango (I prefer to use frozen for the texture and because it keeps for longer)

1 cup of spinach

Just under 1/3 cup of blueberries

½ cup of coconut water

Top up with fresh water (the amount depends on your preferred smoothie consistency)

smoothie pre blend

The great thing about this smoothie is that there is no set amount of each ingredient you put in. In fact, most days I don’t measure how much of each I put it and I am rarely disappointed. And every ingredient included has amazing health benefits and combined make a refreshing and delicious drink.

Spinach
Combining spinach into your smoothie means that, if you aren’t a fan of veggies, you can mask the taste with all of the fruity goodness you also include, while still gaining all of the benefits that spinach has to offer. Popeye certainly wasn’t wrong when he continually professed his love of spinach, showing that eating your greens does make you stronger! Science has proven that spinach can reduce your risk of many forms of Cancer, including prostate, bladder and liver due to its flavanoid, folate, tocopherol and chlorophyllin compounds. Don’t worry, I’m not sure what that means either but every little helps! It also includes a high amount of calcium and magnesium helping to create strong bones, while also improving cardiovascular health. What’s not to love?

Mango
Aside from being delicious, and adding a tangy, tropical taste to your smoothie, mango has been proven to fight cancer, reduce cholesterol and control diabetes amongst many other things. No wonder it has been called the king of fruits.

Blueberries
For such a tiny little fruit, blueberries pack a lot of punch. These little fellas are packed full of antioxidants which can help to reduce the risk of cancer and cardiovascular disease. Plus they only weigh in at about 80 calories per cup and are pretty much fat free.

Coconut water
Yes, there has been a lot of hype surrounding coconut water as of late and although I love it, I understand that it’s not for everyone. But pop it in a smoothie and it instantly adds a little sweetness without the guilt. Coconut water has also been proven to aid weight loss and improve skin.

Water
You don’t need me to tell you why H2O is literally the best thing ever, do you?

Aimee Smoothie

So if you’re after something that’s sweet, tangy and packed full of goodness while on a budget then why not give this smoothie a go. Hopefully you’ll love it as much as I do!

Xo Aimee

One thought on “Ideal student smoothie

Leave a Reply

